Chakra Colours and The Path to Health and Enlightenment


Have you ever wondered why our seven major chakras are represented by the colours of the rainbow?

When I first began learning about the chakra colours, I thought that the colours assigned to each one was just someone’s way of labeling them and making them easy for us to remember. You know, like a paint by numbers painting.

But when I learned that chakras really do have a colour, and those chakra colours mirror a rainbow, it made me wonder which came first. The chakra colours or the rainbow? The chicken or the egg?

Rainbows have long been symbolic of supernatural beauty, promise and enlightenment; so it’s not such a stretch to surmise why the colours of the rainbow would align with the colours of our body’s energy centers, known as ‘chakras’.

When our body’s chakras (pronounced SHOCK-RUHS) are clean, clear and aligned it’s easier for us to open up and receive guidance from Spirit; which can lead us to enlightenment.

As energetic beings we are affected by these energy centres, and in turn, we can also affect them with our thoughts and feelings.

While there are hundreds of chakras located within and around our bodies, there are seven main chakras that most directly affect our daily life.

They are each located next to a gland inside of our bodies and they appear to the trained eye as spinning discs, or fans.

Our chakra ‘discs’ lie flat within the body (parallel to the ground) and spin in a clockwise direction. They are used to push vital life energy, also known as ‘chi’, throughout the body creating harmonious flow and optimal health.

The seven main chakras are (along with their corresponding colour): the Root chakra (red), Sacral chakra (orange), Solar Plexus chakra (yellow), Heart chakra (green), Throat chakra (blue), Third Eye chakra (indigo) and the Crown chakra (violet).

Like slow-moving light waves, our lower chakras (the Root, Sacral and Solar Plexus) spin at a much slower speed and appear as warmer, earthier colours.

The upper chakras (the Heart, Throat, Third Eye and Crown) spin at a much faster speed and appear in cooler colours like the sky. Hence, the lower chakras are related to physical and Earth-like issues such as money, career, power, physical safety, possessions and sexual needs; and our upper chakras relate to spiritual issues like love, forgiveness, speaking your truth, psychic abilities and connection to God or religion.

Each of these energy centres also has a direct connection to physical issues in the body, as well as the emotional issues we experience. Therefore, keeping our chakras in balance is beneficial to our overall health.

If you’re constantly worried about your finances, then your Root chakra colour can become dirty and out of balance. Obsessing over and not letting go of a relationship that is over can enlarge and clog the Heart chakra.

The Crown chakra colour is violet (sometimes seen as white) and is located at the top of your head. Known as our psychic centre, through this chakra we connect to the Divine via claircognizance. Problems with our immune and nervous systems, cancers, headaches, dizziness, learning disorders, major depression, multiple personality disorder and schizophrenia are centred here. This chakra is located near the pineal gland which regulates our physical and spiritual wellbeing.

The Solar Plexus chakra colour is yellow and is located in your stomach area. This chakra is highly complex, relating to your self-worth and sense of power and control. Digestive and weight problems are centred here, as well as issues relating to the liver, pancreas, gallbladder, kidneys and stomach.

The Heart chakra colour is green (sometimes seen with pink flecks) and is located near your heart. Our desires and feelings about relationships, love and compassion correspond to this chakra. Problems with our heart or circulatory system, blood pressure, asthma, allergies and sleep disorders are centred here.

The Throat chakra colour is blue (light to royal blue) and is located in your throat area. Through this chakra we express what we see, feel, think and desire. It is very useful for manifesting and self-protection by communicating what we want and what we don’t want. Disorders affecting the jaw, mouth, thyroid and tonsils are centred here, as well as issues of victimisation and inability to say no or yes.

The Third Eye chakra colour is indigo blue and is located between your eyes at the brow area. Clairvoyance is the main function of this chakra, as well as manifesting through visualisation with the pituitary gland, which is located here. Eyesight issues, headaches in the brow, hormonal imbalances and glandular or endocrine issues linked to the pituitary gland are centred in this chakra.

The Sacral chakra colour is orange and is located just below your belly button in the abdominal area. This chakra corresponds to our feelings and creativity and it is especially important to women because it is the centre of the female reproductive system. Addiction problems show up in this energy centre as well.

The Root chakra colour is red and is located at the base of your spine. It corresponds to our survival and safety needs, as well as sexual function. Issues around money and basic material needs show up in this chakra. This is also the root area for addiction problems.

Energetic blocks, stress and inappropriate beliefs can produce illness and suffering in the body and throw our chakras out of balance. However, there are many things we can do to clear and balance them, including eating foods of specific colours that correspond to each chakra colour. For example, eating strawberries, beets and red apples are a simple way to help keep our Root chakra clean.

We can also use crystals, colour therapy, sound, yoga and meditation to clean and clear our chakras.

Visualising each chakra as a colourful, bright, shining disc that is spinning at the appropriate speed in your body is one of the simplest techniques you can use.

While we may never know which came first; the chicken or the egg? The chakra colours or the rainbow? We can still revel in life’s mysteries and synchronicities knowing that there is some universal source out there that knows the answers, and maybe someday we will too.

Until then, just smile whenever you see a rainbow; and think of your beautiful chakras.

I hope you enjoyed reading and learning about the chakra colours and would just like to say thank you for getting this far. I would really love it if you would leave a comment and let me know what you think your most active chakra colour is.

Thanks to spiritualawakeningtips for this article.

You may also like

15 Ways to Stay Grounded & Protected

To combat the constant overwhelm, the modern world